NY State Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Program (SLIHC)

« Back

Status: Available





Procurement Agency



State Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Program (SLIHC) is available through both the Multifamily Finance 9% LIHTC and Multifamily Finance 4% programs. It provides a dollar-for-dollar state tax reduction for investors in qualified low-income housing. Eligible uses are new construction of or the adaptive reuse of non-residential property to, affordable housing, or substantial rehabilitation or moderate rehabilitation of site-specific multifamily rental housing. Eligible costs are for site acquisition, hard costs, and related soft costs. 

Tenant Eligibility Criteria

If coupled with LIHTC, at least 40% of units must be set-aside for households with incomes up to 90% AMI, or otherwise utilize one of the minimum set-asides cited in the 9% LIHTC term sheets. If utilizing SLIHC as the sole source of HCR financing, at least 20% of units must be set-aside for households with incomes up to 50% AMI.

Eligible Applicants

Nonprofit or for-profit developers are eligible to apply.


Per Project Maximum Award:  
Up to $750,000 for projects with at least 10% of units targeted to households with an income limit above 60% AMI; otherwise up to $500,000.


The property must remain in service for 30 years, or longer if the LIHTC period is extended.

Network Notes

For More Information

See the Fall 2022 Multifamily 9% SLIHC term sheet here.

See the current SLIHC Multifamily 4% SLIHC term sheet here.


Multifamily Finance 4% LIHTC/Bond Contact:

New York State Homes and Community Renewal
(212) 872-0537 

Multifamily Finance 9% LIHTC RFP Contacts:

Darren Scott, Upstate Director of Development East
(518) 795-5016

Counties Served: Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Dutchess, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Montgomery, Orange, Oneida, Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, St. Lawrence, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren and Washington.

Leonard Skrill, Upstate Director of Development West
(518) 461-6591 

Counties Served: Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Niagara, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates.

Ross Karp, Downstate Development Director

(212) 872-0395 

Counties Served: Bronx, Kings, New York, Nassau, Queens, Richmond, Rockland , Suffolk, Westchester.

Last updated: 10/03/2023

« Back