Federal Housing Trust Fund (Federal HTF)

« Back

Status: Available





Procurement Agency



Federal Housing Trust Fund (FHTF) is available through both the Multifamily Finance 9% LIHTC and Multifamily Finance 4% programs. It provides financing assistance for development acquisition, hard, and related soft costs, and operating cost assistance/reserves in projects that serve extremely low-income households.

Tenant Eligibility Criteria

FHTF funding can only be used for households with income up to 30% AMI. Other City and State programs may be used to fund other levels of affordability within the project.  It is expected that projects will have a mix of income levels

Eligible Applicants

Nonprofit or for-profit developers are eligible to apply.


The HCR Multifamily Finance 9% Application Reference Materials detail the maximum award per residential FHTF unit, which varies by unit size: 

Studio: $173,011    
One Bedroom: $198,331
Two Bedroom: $241,176
Three Bedroom: $312,004
Four Bedroom: $342,482


Minimum 30-year term, up to 50-year term.

Network Notes

For More Information

Read the term sheet for the Multifamily Finance 9% LIHTC RFP and the Multifamily Finance 4% program term sheet here.


Multifamily Finance 4% LIHTC/Bond Contact:

New York State Homes and Community Renewal
(212) 872-0537

Multifamily Finance 9% LIHTC RFP Contacts:
Darren Scott, Upstate Director of Development East
(518) 795-5016

Counties Served: Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Dutchess, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Montgomery, Orange, Oneida, Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, St. Lawrence, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren and Washington.

Leonard Skrill, Upstate Director of Development West
(518) 461-6591 

Counties Served: Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Niagara, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates.

Ross Karp, Downstate Development Director

(212) 872-0395 

Counties Served: Bronx, Kings, New York, Nassau, Queens, Richmond, Rockland , Suffolk, Westchester.

Last updated: 10/03/2023

« Back