2014 Conference

Panelists and guests at the 14th Annual New York State Supportive Housing Conference (left to right): NYS Director of Medicaid Jason A. Helgerson, NYC Public Advocate Letitia James with Conference guests from The Door, NYC Human Resources Administration Commissioner Steven Banks and NYC Council Member Stephen Levin.

The Network would like to offer an enormous, heartfelt thank you to the 1,600 registered guests of the 14th Annual New York State Supportive Housing Conference. We will be updating our website in the weeks ahead with photos, videos, presentation materials, audio clips and more from this event. You can also relive the conference by reading through tweets using the conference hashtag #SHNNY2014.

Click here for a full list of all 23 workshops offered at the Network's 2014 conference. You'll find workshop titles, panelists, presentation materials, videos and more. See below or click here for a slideshow of photographs from the day:


The Morning Plenary

Below, you'll find video of our news-making morning plenary session. The eight video clips include remarks from NYC Deputy Mayor Alicia Glen, three close policy advisors to Governor Andrew Cuomo and the Network's senior staff. This year's morning plenary included a very special announcement. Speaking on behalf of the Cuomo administration, NYS Deputy Executive Director of State Operations Fran Reiter revealed that Gov. Cuomo has signed off on a plan to fund a new City-State supportive housing agreement. Ms. Reiter also went on to say, "I don't think there's been a more successful public policy than supportive housing ever." You can click through all eight videos below.

Featured Guests

Our conference included roughly 100 presenters and guest speakers. See here for a full list of presenters. This year's event included remarks and presentations from:

New York State Leaders

  • Courtney Burke: Deputy Secretary for Health
  • Louisa Chafee: Deputy Secretary for Human Services and Information Technology
  • Jason Helgerson: Medicaid Director
  • Kristin Proud: Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance (OTDA) Commissioner
  • Fran Reiter: NYS Executive Deputy Director of State Operations
  • Darryl Towns: Homes and Community Renewal (HCR) Commissioner/CEO

NYC Elected Officials:

  • Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
  • Letitia James: NYC Public Advocate
  • Stephen Levin: General Welfare Committee Chair, NYC Council
  • Scott Stringer: NYC Comptroller
  • Jumaane D. Williams: Committee on Housing and Buildings Chair, NYC Council

Newly-Appointed New York City Leaders:

  • Steven Banks: Human Resources Administration (HRA) Commissioner
  • Vicki Been: Department of Housing Preservation and Development (HPD) Commissioner
  • Bill Chong: Department of Youth and Community Development (DYCD) Commissioner
  • Alicia Glen: Deputy Mayor for Housing and Economic Development
  • Shola Olatoye: NYC Housing Authority (NYCHA) Chair and CEO
  • Gilbert Taylor: Department of Homeless Services (DHS) Commissioner

Thank you to everyone who helped put on and attend the largest supportive housing conference in our nation's history.